DAP CEC Re-elections Results: It’s Status Quo.


Liew Chin Tong, MP for Kluang



  • 30 Sep 2013
  • The Star Malaysia

Liew rocks Lim dynasty

Kit Siang drops to second spot and Guan Eng goes fifth in CEC polls

DAP strategist Liew Chin Tong is top of CEC polls following fresh elections. PETALING JAYA: DAP strategist Liew Chin Tong stormed his way to the top of the central executive committee (CEC) polls, following fresh elections that took a toll on the Lim family.

At last year’s CEC election, nullified by allegations of irregularities, he was placed 15th and many steps below party adviser Lim Kit Siang and secretary-general Lim Guan Eng.

Liew, the Kluang MP said to be responsible for the DAP’s foray into Johor, was outstanding in his performance with 1,438 votes but, nevertheless, was ahead of Kit Siang by just two votes.

“I definitely did not expect to be at the top. But I would like to thank the delegates for their support,” said Liew.

Liew rocks Lim dynasty

Topping the list of winners was underdog and Kluang MP Liew Chin Tong (15th spot earlier) who garnered 1,438 votes followed by party adviser Lim Kit Siang (who slipped from first spot) and party chairman and Jelutong MP Karpal Singh who came in second and third, polling 1,436 and 1,421 votes respectively.

The Sun daily

Zairil shines in DAP polls

Zairil shines in DAP polls

Free Malaysia Today

DAP CEC re-election: The results

P Ramani | September 29, 2013

DAP CEC re-election: The results

These are the top 20 candidates.
Liew Chin Tong – 1,438 votes
Lim Kit Siang – 1436 votes
Karpal Singh – 1,421 votes
Gobind Singh – 1,409 votes
Lim Guan Eng – 1,304 votes
Chong Cheng Jin – 1,294 votes
Loke Siew Fok Anthony – 1,263 votes
Chow Kon Yeow – 1,203 votes
Fong Kui Lin – 1,193 votes
Teng Chang Khim – 1,164 votes
Pua Kiam Wee Tony – 1,158 votes
Zairil khir Johari – 1,132 votes
Kok Suh Sim Teresa – 1,127 votes
Chong Eng – 1,111 votes
M Kula Segaran – 1,088 votes
Tan Kok Wai – 1,088 votes
Teo Nie Ching – 1,081 votes
Boo Cheng hau – 961 votes
Nga Kor Ming – 956 votes
Ngeh Koo Ham – 809 votes



DAP delegates keeps status quo in CEC
8:22PM Sep 29, 2013

All 20 DAP central executive committee members elected in December last year have been re-elected today.

Zairil Khir Johari, whose appointment to the CEC was in dispute during the December polls, came in 12th with 1,132 votes.

The closest any other Malay candidate came to winning a seat was Ariffin SM Omar (441), Tengku Zulpuri Shah Raja Puji (441) and Ahmad Ton (351).

DAP delegates keeps status quo in CEC

Free Malaysia Today

DAP polls: Ngeh-Nga out of favour?

Leven Woon | September 29, 2013

A ‘menu’ that urges DAP delegates to vote against Ngeh-Ngah cousins has appeared, while 17 candidates have pulled out of the race at the last minute.

PETALING JAYA: DAP’s central executive committee (CEC) re-election today started with the circulation of a ‘candidates list’ that urged the delegates to vote against Ngeh-Ngah cousins, and withdrawal of 17 candidates from the race.

The 20-men name list, or “menu” in local political term, contained the names of most of the candidates elected in the December elections but left out Ngeh, Ngah and Johor DAP chief Boo Cheng Hau.

Detractors have criticised Ngeh and Nga for running their own show in Perak, and said the duo’s insistence in fielding their own men in the 13th general election as among the reasons for Pakatan to fail in recapturing Perak.

In last December’s CEC election, Ngeh clinched the 19th slot with 824 votes while Nga came at number 12 with 1,075 votes. The results have been declared null and void by the Registrar of Societies, resulting in the party holding a re-election today.

DAP has 2,076 eligible delegates, of which 1,720 can cast the votes today, ad hoc returning officer Ong Kian Ming said.

DAP polls: Ngeh-Nga out of favour


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s