Travelling to Singapore? Simplified testing procedures and updated border measures from 26 October 2021, 11.59pm




Singapore to allow travellers from South Asia, ease stay-home notice restrictions for Malaysia and Indonesia

SINGAPORE: Singapore announced on Saturday (Oct 23) that it will re-open its borders to travellers from six countries, including Bangladesh and India, as well as loosen testing and stay-home notice restrictions for several other countries, including Malaysia and Indonesia.

This follows a review of the COVID-19 situation in these countries, said the Ministry of Health (MOH) in a release.

From 11.59pm on Oct 26, travellers with a 14-day travel history to Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, prior to departure to Singapore will be allowed to enter or transit through the country again. 

These travellers will be subject to Category IV border restrictions, which include a 10-day stay-home notice at dedicated facilities.


On top of that, Malaysia, Cambodia, Egypt, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Mongolia, Qatar, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, South Africa, Tonga, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Vietnam, will be placed under Category III measures.

From 11.59pm on Oct 26, all travellers from Category III regions will be able to serve their 10-day stay-home notice at their declared place of residence or accommodation – regardless of the vaccination status and travel history of the traveller and their household members.

Category III travellers currently have to apply to opt out of serving their stay-home notice at dedicated facilities, subject to certain restrictions.

“By default, they will not be allocated accommodation in any dedicated SHN facilities,” said MOH on Saturday.

Returning residents should ensure they can secure alternative accommodation prior to their return if their homes are unsuitable for their stay-home notice, it added.


FMT Reporters – October 23, 2021 5:39 PM

PETALING JAYA: Singapore has eased its quarantine rules for several countries, including Malaysia.

Malaysians are now allowed to quarantine at their place of residence rather than at isolation centres from Oct 27.

Malaysia will be moved from Category IV to Category III of Singapore’s categories of border restrictions from Oct 27.

Channel News Asia (CNA) quoted the Singapore health ministry as saying Malaysians can serve their 10-day stay-home notice (SHN) at their declared residence or accommodation from Oct 27 onwards.

This is regardless of the traveller’s vaccination status, travel history and household members.

“By default, they will not be allocated accommodation in any dedicated SHN facilities,” said the city-state’s health ministry.

All travellers must strictly remain quarantined in their accommodations and will be required to wear an electronic monitoring device throughout the 10 days.

The ministry warned that action would be taken against those who breached their quarantine or made false declarations.

Meanwhile, travellers from Category III countries will no longer have to undergo an RT-PCR test upon arrival. Instead, they only have to take the test at the end of their quarantine period.

They also no longer have to be screened with rapid-test kits on the third and seventh days of their arrival in Singapore during their SHN.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s