Another boo boo in the making? Jakim says Daim and Toblerone not halal but Fomca says not necessarily haram.

When you give RM1 billion to Jakim, it must show that it is ‘earning’ its billion-ringgit way.

The RM1 billion-dollar JAKIM, the Malaysian Islamic Religious Development Department.

Jakim’s Halal Hub Division said both chocolates have not obtained Malaysia’s Halal Certification or any foreign halal certification recognised by Jakim.

28 Dec 2016

..

NGOs want Jakim to confirm if Daim, Toblerone are halal

The Malaysia Islamic Development Department (Jakim) has been urged to explain the halal status of chocolate brands, Daim and Toblerone, which have reportedly raised doubts among Muslims.

This was urged by two non-governmental organisations, namely, Malaysian Muslim People’s Coalition (IRIMM) and Pertubuhan Martabat Jalinan Muhibah Malaysia (MJMM).

IRIMM president Amir Amsaa Alla Pitchay stressed that Jakim must decide whether the chocolates were halal or otherwise.

“We do not want to have doubts over these food products,” he told reporters in Kuala Lumpur today.

 

..

The halal brigade strikes again

December 28, 2016

Assurances from the manufacturer of Toblerone and Daim may not be good enough.

COMMENT
.

The makers of ordinary food items like butter, sauces and chocolates have often enough courted controversy for the absence of a halal label on their products.

A few months ago, Auntie Anne’s “pretzel dog” had to be renamed “pretzel sausage”. The franchise was denied a halal certificate because Jakim claimed that some Muslims were confused and thought they were eating dog.

In the past, people were confused when Jakim banned Tabasco sauce, Golden Churn butter, HP sauce, Cadbury chocolates and coffee. These are all meat-free.

In October’s hotdog debacle, the Perlis mufti advised Muslim patrons to check the food content and not get fixated on the name given to the food. Many Muslims already do this.

Jakim once claimed that Tabasco sauce, which is made from chillies, salt and vinegar, contained porcine DNA. Soon after, HP sauce was also found to contain porcine DNA.

A quick look at the list of ingredients will show that these products do not contain any meat derivatives.
.

The halal business is a multi-billion-ringgit global industry. Obtaining a halal certificate is not cheap and it is time-consuming and laborious. However, as some food manufacturers and importers have discovered, it is costly not to have one, even if sane people think that some food items, such as butter, chocolate and hot sauce, don’t need one.

How long will it be before water needs halal certification? Oh, I forgot. Some brands of bottled water already carry the halal logo.

Mariam Mokhtar is an FMT columnist.

The RM1 billion-dollar JAKIM, the Malaysian Islamic Religious Development Department.

26 Dec 2016

Manufacturer: Ingredients in Daim and Toblerone chocolates safe for consumption by Muslims

KUALA LUMPUR: The manufacturer of Daim and Toblerone chocolates, Mondelez International stressed that ingredients used to produce the two chocolates are suitable and safe to be consumed by Muslims.

The company in a statement said even though the products were made in countries, which did not need halal certification, they met the world consumer food standards.

“The Malaysian Islamic Development Department (Jakim) has also issued a clarification that food products which do not have halal certification cannot be considered halal or non-halal,” it said in a statement Monday.

According to the statement, information on the ingredients used to produce Toblerone and Daim chocolates are printed and consumers are advised to refer to the packaging.

“We will continue to cooperate with the authorities in the entire local market including Jakim to ensure our products meet the requirements of consumers in Malaysia,” said Mondelez International.

25 Dec 2016

..

No halal cert = haram? Not always

December 25, 2016

Fomca says Daim and Toblerone is okay for Muslims, as long as there is no doubt over their contents.

PETALING JAYA: Products without halal certificates are not necessarily “haram” (forbidden), said Federation of Malaysian Consumers Association (Fomca).

Its deputy president Mohd Yusof Abdul Rahman said this to FMT when commenting on the Islamic Development Department (Jakim) confirmation that Daim and Toblerone chocolates have no halal certification.

He said the chocolates can still be consumed by Muslims, so long as there is no doubt over their contents.

“Just because they don’t have halal certificates, doesn’t mean they are haram.

“Although many have responded to Jakim’s statement by publishing articles with headlines claiming that they are.

“That is a false claim, just like the allegations made during the whole ‘pretzel dog’ fiasco.”

http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2016/12/25/no-halal-cert-haram-not-always/

24 Dec 2016

Muslims Advised By JAKIM Against Consuming Daim And Toblerone Chocolates

zz

..

NEWS – Toblerone and Daim chocolates not halal certified, Jakim says – Malay Mail Online

 zzz

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Another boo boo in the making? Jakim says Daim and Toblerone not halal but Fomca says not necessarily haram.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s