The PAP is here! No, it’s not the Singaporean People’s Action Party but Malaysia’s own People’s Alternative Party.


Zulkifli (third from left) and the other pro-tem committee members of the PAP. — Picture by Opalyn Mok

8 December 2017


‘Penang will still have a Chinese CM if PAP wins’

Published:     Modified:

The People’s Alternative Party (PAP), an entity formed by disgruntled DAP members, pledged today that Penangites can be ensured of a Chinese chief minister if the party seizes power in the state in the coming general election (GE14).

PAP national president Zulkifli Mohd Noor said Penang needs a new CM and if changes take place, the people of the state are guaranteed an ethnic Chinese one.

This is in keeping with the tradition in Penang, where the CM, since Independence, has always been a Chinese Malaysian.

“Although the CM is Chinese, the Malays and Indians will have a place in our administration,” Zulkifli said at a press conference in Jawi, Seberang Perai Selatan in mainland Penang…


The Star

Tuesday September 16, 2014 MYT 7:19:23 PM

New political party, PAP, awaits registration

PAP pro-tem president Zulkifli Mohd Noor.

PAP pro-tem president Zulkifli Mohd Noor.

GEORGE TOWN: A new party on the political block is emerging, which sets itself out as an alternative to the Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat coalitions.

The People’s Alternative Party (PAP) submitted an application for approval from the Registrar of Societies (ROS) on Tuesday, according to its pro-tem president Zulkifli Mohd Noor.

The former DAP vice-chairman said the party would be independent of the existing coalitions.

“PAP’s platform is for Malaysians who want an alternative to the existing parties.

“Our aim is not to contest in by-elections, but we are gearing up towards contesting in all state and Parliamentary seats in the next General Election,” Zulkifli told a press conference at Hotel Seri Malaysia in Bayan Baru here Tuesday.

Among others listed in the PAP pro tem committee are Penang Malay Congress president Rahmat Isahak, former DAP Ladang Paroi branch vice chairman A. David Dass and former DAP Bagan Luar branch chairman G. Asoghan.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s